Eagle Palms 2017-06-06T02:38:28+00:00

Eagle Palms

Eagle Scout is not the end but a beginning

First awarded in 1927, Eagle Palms are not a rank but an award. The requirements include earning 5 additional Merit Badges after earning the Eagle Scout Rank or last Eagle Palm, tenure, and leadership.

The Eagle Scout Rank requires that you earn 21 of the 121 Merit Badges. After earning the Eagle Scout Rank, you can continue to earn Merit badges and Eagle Palms until your 18th birthday. Currently the maximum number of Eagle Palms you can earn is 20, worn as six silver palms and one gold palm. You would need at least 3 months for each palm for a total of 60 months, or five years after earning Eagle. To earn all 20 palms you would need to earn Eagle by your 13th birthday.

Merit Badges for Eagle Palms

Merit Badges for Eagle Palms
Any merit badges beyond those used to earn the Eagle Scout Award, and earned before or after a Boy Scout earns the Eagle Scout Award, may be applied toward requirement 4 for Eagle Palms.
Advancement Policies #33088, p. 12


Eagle Palms requirements

After becoming an Eagle Scout, you may earn Palms by completing the following requirements:

  1. Be active in your troop and patrol for at least three months after becoming an Eagle Scout or after award of last Palm.*
  2. Demonstrate Scout spirit by living the Scout Oath (Promise) and Scout Law in your everyday life.
  3. Make a satisfactory effort to develop and demonstrate leadership ability.
  4. Earn five additional merit badges beyond those required for Eagle or last Palm.**
  5. Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.
  6. Complete your board of review.

You may wear only the proper combination of Palms for the number of merit badges you earned beyond the rank of Eagle. The Bronze Palm represents five merit badges, the Gold Palm 10, and the Silver Palm 15.

* Eagle Palms must be earned in sequence, and the three-month tenure requirement must be observed for each Palm.

** Merit Badges earned any time since becoming a Boy Scout may be used to meet this requirement.